It was a come from behind victory for Quadruple APT Player of the Year, Samad Razavi, from England to claim his second APT Main Event title on board the first APT Poker Cruise 2016!

When play dropped down to three handed, Razavi was at the bottom chip counts:

Iori Yogo – 200,000

Lee Ming Ho – 160,000

Samad Razavi – 90,000

With the blinds at 3,000 – 6,000 and an ante of 3,000. Sam immediately moved all in holding 7♣ 9♣ after Japan’s Iori Yogo limped in from the small blind holding a pair sixes. Yogo snap called and the flop turned over7? 7? Q?. The rest of the board showed two dry cards that doubled up Razavi and left Yogo with the shortest stack.

Two hands later, Sam woke up with a pair of queens on the button and made it 13,000 to go. This time Iori shoved his remaining chips with A♠ 6♠. The flop and turn gave Yogo a flush draw but bricked on the river to eliminate him in third place.

On the first hand of heads up play, Hong Kong’s Lee Ming Ho jacked up the pot, opening for 15,000 holding A?Q?. Razavi looked down and saw A? 4? and without hesitation moved all in! A 4? on the board held through for Razavi and the rest is history!

Samad Razavi, the Quadruple APT Player of the Year, is now the third player to be crowned as a two-time APT Main Event Champion!

APT Poker Cruise 2016 Side Event Champions

Deepstack Hyper Turbo 1 Champion, Wai Lok Fong

Monsterstack Champion, Team PKC’s John Tech De Guzman

Deepstack Hyper Turbo 2 Champion, Team PKC’s Jason Wai Tung Lo

The APT Poker Cruise 2016 was held in partnership with the Poker King Club on board the Rex Fortune Cruise. (Recap taken from Asian Poker Tour Official Website).

Share This
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on xing
Share on email
Scroll to top